Dr. Mark Hyman

Treating Acne From The Inside Out with Dr. Elizabeth Boham

Treating Acne From The Inside Out with Dr. Elizabeth Boham

Treating Acne From The Inside Out with Dr. Elizabeth Boham | This episode is sponsored by AirDoctorAcne is the #1 skin condition in the United States, affecting not just millions of teenagers but an increasing number of adults as well. We spend over a billion dollars for prescriptions and over-the-counter (OTC) products to cure acne, yet at best these are short-term solutions. Conventional medicine deals with symptoms, so their solutions for acne include lathering on potions and lotions, and taking antibiotics or strong liver-damaging medications. Functional Medicine, on the other hand, addresses the problem’s root cause. From this lens, we can understand that numerous factors contribute to acne, including nutritional status, stress, toxicity, inflammation and hormonal and gut imbalances.In this mini-episode, Dr. Hyman is joined by Dr. Elizabeth Boham to discuss the Functional Medicine approach to treating acne and other skin issues.Dr. Elizabeth Boham is a physician and nutritionist who practices Functional Medicine as part of my team at The UltraWellness Center in Lenox, MA. Through her practice and lecturing, she has helped thousands of people achieve their wellness goals. She is part of the faculty of the Institute for Functional Medicine and has been featured on the Dr. Oz show and in a variety of publications and media including Huffington Post, The Chalkboard Magazine, and Experience Life. Her DVD Breast Wellness: Tools to Prevent and Heal from Breast Cancer explores the Functional Medicine approach to keeping your breasts and whole body well, a topic she is passionate about as a breast cancer survivor.In this episode, Dr. Hyman and Dr. Boham discuss:Why what you’re eating is so much more important than what you put on your skinHow topical skin treatments can work in short term but cause issues in the long term Foods that can commonly cause acne, including sugar, starch, dairy, and processed foodsHow sugar affects our microbiome and immune systemHow Dr. Boham treated two patients with acne The gut-skin connectionNutrients that are really important for skin to turn over, including vitamin A and zincHow toxins such as pesticides and BPA can affect skin and overall health Supporting your detoxification system through diet, hydration, sweat, and moreFor more information, visit drhyman.com/uwcThis episode is sponsored by AirDoctor. We need clean air not only to live but to create vibrant health and protect ourselves and loved ones from toxin exposure and disease. Learn more about the AirDoctor Professional Air Purifier system at a special price at www.drhyman.com/filterAdditional resources:“Got Acne? What You Put IN Your Body is More Important Than What You Put on Your Skin”https://www.ultrawellnesscenter.com/2019/08/01/got-acne-what-you-put-in-your-body-is-more-important-than-what-you-put-on-your-skin/“Inner Glow”https://www.ultrawellnesscenter.com/2017/07/17/inner-glow/“Hormones and Neurotransmitters”https://www.ultrawellnesscenter.com/2012/10/17/lesson-3-hormones-and-neurotransmitters/“Gut and Digestive Health”https://www.ultrawellnesscenter.com/2012/10/17/lesson-4-gut-digestive-health/“Detoxification”https://www.ultrawellnesscenter.com/2012/10/17/lesson-5-detoxification/“Energy, Mitochondria and Oxidative Stress”https://www.ultrawellnesscenter.com/2012/10/17/lesson-6-energy-mitochondria-oxidative-stress/“Clean Beauty”https://www.ultrawellnesscenter.com/2019/04/25/clean-beauty/“Why Is Sugar So Hard To Kick”https://www.ultrawellnesscenter.com/2018/08/15/why-is-sugar-so-hard-to-kick/“Essential Glutathione: The Mother of All Antioxidants”https://drhyman.com/blog/2010/05/19/glutathione-the-mother-of-all-antioxidants/“Defeating Acne, Quick Meal Prep, and How to Gain Weight on a Low Carb Diet”https://drhyman.com/blog/2017/04/17/defeating-acne-quick-meal-prep-gain-weight-low-carb-diet/“10 Simple Strategies to Eliminate Acne”https://drhyman.com/blog/2015/11/04/10-simple-strategies-to-eliminate-acne/“Do Milk and Sugar Cause Acne”https://drhyman.com/blog/2011/02/11/do-milk-and-sugar-cause-acne/“How to Feed the Gut”https://drhyman.com/blog/2018/04/13/how-to-feed-your-gut/“Get These Toxins Out of Your House:https://drhyman.com/blog/2016/07/25/get-these-toxins-out-of-your-house/“Enhance Detoxification”https://drhyman.com/blog/2010/08/30/the-ultramind-solution-key-5-enhance-detoxification/“EWG’s 5 Ways to Reduce Your Exposure to Toxic BPA”https://www.ewg.org/news-and-analysis/2018/02/5-ways-reduce-your-exposure-toxic-bpa See acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

Duration: 39 min

Release Date:

Share part or all of the audio of this episode