Dave Gonzales, Joanna Robinson, and Neil Miller

A Message From The Storm Podcast

A Message From The Storm Podcast

A message from The Storm Podcast. Referenced Suggested Material: The New Jim Crow - Michelle Alexander  https://newjimcrow.com/about  mass incarceration of Black Americans making them second class citizens by classifying them as felons  How to be an Anti-Racist - Ibram X. Kendi  https://www.ibramxkendi.com/how-to-be-an-antiracist-1 how to actively be an anti-racist and work towards an anti-racist society  Who Do You Serve, Who Do You Protect?  https://www.haymarketbooks.org/books/952-who-do-you-serve-who-do-you-protect?discount_code=WHODOYOUSERVE free e-book (from Haymarket publishers, by a collection of writers) about policing in Black, Brown, and Indigenous communities  Race for Profit - Keeanga-Yamahtta Taylor  http://www.keeangataylor.com/books.html How Banks and the Real Estate Industry Undermined Black Homeownership Ain't I a Woman: Black Women and Feminism - Bell Hooks http://www.bellhooksinstitute.com/#/about she's a great writer for white feminists or capitalist feminist to read  Between the World and Me - Ta-Nehisi Coates https://ta-nehisicoates.com/books/between-the-world-and-me/ his article about a case for reparations is also great  (https://www.theatlantic.com/magazine/archive/2014/06/the-case-for-reparations/361631/) How to Slowly Kill Yourself and Others in America - Kiese Laymon https://www.kieselaymon.com/how-to-slowly-kill-yourself-and-others-in-america essayist  Citizen - Claudia Rankine  https://www.graywolfpress.org/books/citizen poet  List of free PDFs by subject (resource from BLM site) https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/0Bz011IF2Pu9TUWIxVWxybGJ1Ync White Fragility -  Robin D’Angelo http://www.beacon.org/White-Fragility-P1631.aspx Sister Outsider -  Audre Lorde https://www.penguinrandomhouse.com/books/198292/sister-outsider-by-audre-lorde/ Black Skin, White Masks -  Franz Fanon https://groveatlantic.com/book/black-skin-white-masks/ Policing the Black Man - Angela Davis  https://www.penguinrandomhouse.com/books/537978/policing-the-black-man-by-edited-and-with-an-introduction-by-angela-j-davis/ Films: I Am Not Your Negro  James Baldwin documentary  Whose Streets? Ferguson protests documentary  Just Mercy Based on the book by civil rights attorney Bryan Stevenson, the story follows Stevenson (Michael B. Jordan) as he works to free Walter McMillian (Jamie Foxx) from death row after being wrongfully convicted of murder. Free for the month of June.

Duration: 24 min

Release Date:

Share part or all of the audio of this episode